Suburban Straw Bale Gardening and Backyard Chickens

We have finally settled down with my daughters family here in Oklahoma. The move went smoothly and I am getting along very well with my two grandkids and my daughter. Her husband is overseas working and we moved into her home to help out while her husband is away.

The best part of living with my family? Cooking big dinners and lots of laughter over dinner meals, I really missed that living up in the woods with just my husband these last five years.

I’ve met all my neighbors whilst setting up my garden. They all wanted to know what I was doing. Gardening is an easy way to meet people. You are outside in a natural setting and accessible. It gives the neighborhood an intimate feeling too. I tell everyone gardening and taking care of the yard is a cheaper way to stay in shape, cheaper than a gym membership and I get to eat the fruits from my work too!

We also ordered some chicks from Cackle Hatchery. We can keep up to 6 adults and 14 chicks under 8 weeks old. We bought Easter Eggers, Barred Plymouth Rock, and Black Sex Links. I will build my own little chicken coop per city ordinance,it’s going to be an A-frame, I am so excited! We will keep six hens and the rest of the pullets we ordered will be sold to other backyard chicken fanciers.

Straw Bale Garden

Strawbalegarden
Bales are ready for planting. I need to buy support wire and netting to keep the squirrels out. Check out the link I provided for straw bale gardening.
A friend of my daughters helped me get my straw bales. Oklahoma people are so friendly and helpful. I love them!
A friend of my daughters helped me get my straw bales. Oklahoma people are so friendly and helpful. I love them!
Instead of a green thumb I have a green palm. Blisters from breaking up dirt for the lawn. The green came from some kind of emulsifier that goes with the grass seed.
Instead of a green thumb I have a green palm. Blisters from breaking up dirt for the lawn. The green came from some kind of emulsifier that goes with the grass seed.
