Detox Month – Dinner

Tonight I made soup for dinner, which will also be my lunch tomorrow. I also make a nice tea from herbs I grew this summer made from Lemon Balm, Sage, and Oregano.

Organic Ingredients

One Celery root, peeled and diced into 1/2 inch cubes. Two stalks of celery, diced, 1-cup of steamed Hubbard squash, one onion diced, inch of ginger diced, five cloves of garlic diced, two carrots diced, one Leek thinly sliced, 1/4 cup of coconut oil, 2 tsp of turmeric, 1 tsp of cumin, 1/2 tsp of salt.

Once everything is diced or cubed, melt oil in a stew pot and cook everything till tender, add the salt at this time.  Let some of the veggies brown to give your stock a nice warm taste. Add enough water to what ever consistency you want, add spices at this time. I never measure and you know what you like. Cook on low for another 15 minutes and serve. This soup keeps me warm. I remember we had to put mineral licks out for our livestock. An old timer told me without proper minerals our cattle and horses would freeze. Isn’t that amazing?  With the proper nutrition we can stay warm and save energy too. No need to turn our house heat up high.

I wanted to add mushrooms and some of my canned hot peppers. I will add them tomorrow for lunch!

One thought on “Detox Month – Dinner

Comments are closed.