Changing gut bacteria through diet affects brain function, UCLA study shows

I found this out on my own! So exciting to see studies coming out showing mind and gut are intimately connected.

ClinicalNews.Org

01 JUN 2013

UCLA researchers now have the first evidence that bacteria ingested in food can affect brain function in humans. In an early proof-of-concept study of healthy women, they found that women who regularly consumed beneficial bacteria known as probiotics through yogurt showed altered brain function, both while in a resting state and in response to an emotion-recognition task.

The study, conducted by scientists with UCLA’s Gail and Gerald Oppenheimer Family Center for Neurobiology of Stress and the Ahmanson–Lovelace Brain Mapping Center at UCLA, appears in the June edition of the peer-reviewed journal Gastroenterology.

The discovery that changing the bacterial environment, or microbiota, in the gut can affect the brain carries significant implications for future research that could point the way toward dietary or drug interventions to improve brain function, the researchers said.

“Many of us have a container of yogurt in our refrigerator that we may eat for…

View original post 883 more words

2 thoughts on “Changing gut bacteria through diet affects brain function, UCLA study shows

    1. I have a side of Kimchee with my lunch and dinner. I have so much energy, my skin looks better, and I’m not lost in brain fog. I think this stuff is the fountain of youth Barney.

Comments are closed.