When Will This End?

I am still canning my garden’s tomatoes! Canning hot spicy salsa from our tomatoes and peppers. October 14th my husband and I had picked all our tomatoes. Green tomatoes were cleaned with vinegar and water, dried, set aside to ripen slowly. I’m down to the last canning batch. What’s left over will be eaten fresh. With the long keepers I could have pulled the plant, tomato and all, hung the plant in a cool dry storage area. I read with luck and proper storage you can eat fresh tomatoes through the winter. Unfortunately I don’t have the proper storage area.

Next to the deep sink I have pickling and salad cucumbers I’m seeding for next years crop. The Armenian cucumbers seem to keep really well in my cool storage room with the squash.

Tomatoes ripened inside. Picked October 14th
Tomatoes ripened inside. Picked October 14th
Last of the tomatoes. We will have fresh tomatoes through the end of November!
Last of the tomatoes. We will have fresh tomatoes through the end of November!

Recipe can be found here.

