Apple Pie Is The Apple Of My Eye

Today on my task list besides cleaning my kitchen, steam juicing our wild apples and making an apple biscuit pie. I will be finishing up the first layer of color on my duck painting as well. I must paint during the first or middle part of the day. By evening I start crashing. I am a morning person for sure.

Biscuits

1 cup of wheat flour plus some, you may need to add more as you mix in liquid
1 cup of buckwheat flour
3/4 cup of butter or coconut oil
1 tsp of salt
1 tsp of baking soda
1 tablespoon of vinegar
2 eggs or 1/4 cup of pureed apple/pumpkin/squash, you get the idea
1/2 cup of yogurt or add more veggie puree (for the vegan folk)

Heat oven to 425 degrees

Mix dry ingredients together
Cut butter into dry ingredients until flour looks like fine sand.
Make a hole in the middle of the flour mix
Mix up liquid ingredients and dump the mix into the flour
Toss liquid and dry ingredients lightly together until everything is moist.

The mixture must adhere enough to form into a messy ball. Place dough ball (a little larger than a golf ball) on a well greased pan or a pan lined with parchment paper. Bake for 20 minutes or until the lumps on the biscuits are lightly brown. I use this same mix for my apple biscuit pie crust.

Cut a biscuit in half to make sure they are done before pulling the whole lot out of the oven.

If you don’t sift the hull out of your hand-milled flour you will have a very stiff-heavy product. I use a large fine mesh strainer for sifting. It’s really easy and fast, just rub flour against strainer repeatedly until all that’s left is grain hull. I take this product and hand mill again. You get a second batch of flour that isn’t as fine as the first but is still usable, sift again and add to your first batch of flour. Hand-milled grain with the hull sifted out does not behave like flour you buy in the store.  It takes more hand-milled flour  for your recipe from my experience. That’s why I have extra on hand to add to the mix just in case. The dough also seems sticker to me.  Another point, hand-milled buckwheat flour does not brown easily, especially if you use coconut oil. Butter will help the browning of product. Just a heads up on that. You biscuits may not brown at all if you mix wheat with buckwheat or you make an all buckwheat product. Buckwheat tends to fall apart easily as well. That is why egg or vegetable pureed product is needed.

4 thoughts on “Apple Pie Is The Apple Of My Eye

    1. Thank you! I used hand-milled flour. It behaves very differently from industrial milled flours. Coconut opposed to butter behaves differently when it reacts to heat and flour as well. More flour is needed when using coconut. It’s an easy biscuit recipe if you been there before. Good luck!

Comments are closed.