Pumpkin and Pepper Soup

Ingredients

  • 4 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 Tsp of salt or salt to your taste. I like salt, it makes everything taste better.
  • 1 medium sweet white or yellow onion diced
  • 3 large cloves of minced garlic
  • 3 Jalapeño peppers
  • 2 Tsp. of curry powder
  • 1/2 Tsp of ground ground cumin
  • 1/4 Tsp of cinnamon
  • 6 cups of baked pumpkin, one medium pumpkin should be enough
  • 1 quart of chicken broth
  • 1 cup of greek yogurt (the thick stuff)
  • 1/4 cup of molasses
  • 1/2 cup of sugar

Cut in half and seed pumpkin removing all the seeds and stringy meat. You can cut the halves in quarters if you want. Add some water to the baking pan and place pumpkin skin side up. Place peppers around the pumpkin if you want. I like my peppers roasted to a dark brown color. Roast pumpkin until soft at 350 degrees. I think that takes less than an hour. You can use a fork to poke through the pumpkin skin to see how soft it is.

Tasks

1 Melt coconut oil, add diced onions, salt, and spices. Watch the onions turn translucent. Scope out the baked pumpkin meat and set aside.

2 Have your blender ready and add pumpkin in batches with baked peppers, onions, and spices. Blend until smooth with your chicken broth.

3 The last batch of pumpkin add your yogurt, sugar, garlic, and molasses, blend until smooth and transfer to a soup pot

4 Cook on medium low until the soup is at the temperature you like, don’t boil or you will curdle the yogurt. Plate up with your favorite kind of tortilla.

If you wanna be fancy you can add a dollop of yogurt and sprinkle more more peppers or pumpkin seeds.

My husband said please remember this recipe. He said he could eat this soup once a week. The tortillas are made with our hand milled red wheat, stuffed with cheddar cheese and pickled sweet peppers, topped with Salsa Verde made from our own tomatillos! I’m so happy I could grow most of this meal in my backyard. The wheat was bought from one of our areas local organic farmers. I wash the grain and dry it before hand milling. I find if I don’t wash organic grains I still have an allergic reaction that mimics gluten intolerance symptoms. I am guessing something is sprayed on the grain to dry it out and inhibit fungus and mold.  I have no allergic reaction to wheat when I make my own organic wheat products.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin and Pepper Soup

Comments are closed.