Chicken Bones – Rearticulated

I don’t know if I’m going to post how to skin and gut a chicken. I’ve got it down to a fine art now after 4 years of practice.  However  here is a naked Roo and his cleaned bones. I boiled the meat off after skinning and gutting. I have read hard boiling bones will cause the fat to set in the marrow and you will get stinky bones. So I gently boiled the chicken. The bones haven’t become stinky yet and it’s been two weeks.  The Roo (4 month old rooster) made a wonderful chicken salad. I then soaked the cleaned bones in peroxide for 12 hours. I laid the bones out in the sun to dry.

I have always found bones beautiful. I met some artist who do bone art and I wanted to try it! I have plenty of chicken skeletons to practice with. Maybe this year we will find some road kill as well. You know, a deer, dog, cat, possum, or raccoon.

I have studied the art of rearticulation and I found some really interesting sites. This is my favorite site. Jakes Bones, a 12-year-old boy who loves to put skeletons together. I was just like him as a kid but never thought of putting the animals we eat bones back together! My passion was tadpoles, frogs, horses, and ants. I once spent several mornings watching a chickens butt  to see how that small hole (vent) popped out a huge egg. The hen didn’t like the company but eventually had to lay her egg.  But that’s another story to be told with some pictures!     ( http://www.jakes-bones.com/2013/01/my-finished-rearticulated-fox-skeleton.html)

When I finish putting the chicken skeleton together I am going to use paint, gems and wire to decorate it, make it a work of art. Although nature has done a better job at sculpting. You look at the shape and flow of these bones, simply beautiful, a real work of art.

Next year the Roo will be back, hatched in the next batch of eggs and play through the spring until butchering time. I will post my finished work sometime this coming fall. I still am studying exactly how to put the skeleton together so it will stay together.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

