Buy Local!

The best workout in the world is working your garden with just a shovel and a hoe. I've lost at least 20lbs since March 2014.
The best workout in the world is working your garden with just a shovel and a hoe. I’ve lost at least 20lbs since March 2014.

I’m plotting out my next adventures to our local farms this summer and fall. I will be buying peaches, apples, nuts, and berries! You get to know your farmer, how they grow their food, make friends with the locals. Networking is so important for a healthy community. Most small organic farms now have their own websites as well. You can look up CSAs, Farmers Markets, Farmstands & U-Pick (my favorite). There are classes being held just about anywhere you look, teaching people how to garden, preserve foods, store dry goods when buying in bulk.

I buy almost 100% of my food local and we generate zero garbage! I buy bulk and can most of my food. Scrapes and left-overs are fed to the chickens. Also Oregon has a great recycle system for items I no longer need and can’t feed to the chickens or compost.

Willamette Farm and Food Coalition is a nonprofit organization facilitating and supporting the development of a secure and sustainable food system in Lane County. We envision this food system as one in which our farms and food businesses are both ecologically and economically viable, or agricultural lands are supporting a larger percentage of our food needs, and all members of our community have access to locally produced foods. http://www.lanefood.org/home.php

