OMG-Flowers On My Tomatillos and Tomatoes!

Oh My Gosh! I need to start pruning my tomatoes tomorrow and tying them up. I go into the woods and clip some nice straight sticks from some of our trees and make my own cages. I’m so excited. Time is going by so swiftly. Arent’ you excited for me? I’ve never grown Tomatillos, hopefully they will fruit before it starts getting cold in September here in the foothills of the Oregon Cascades.

I learned something new today researching staking and pruning tomatoes. So the determinate tomatoes (bushy) I shouldn’t prune but I am pulling the lower branches off because it makes for easy weeding and keeps the diseases away. The indeterminate tomatoes need to be pruned to produce good sized tomatoes. Next year I am going to try very hard to label all my plants! I am horrible at keeping track and it makes for more work.

What is the difference between determinate and indeterminate tomatoes?

Determinate varieties of tomatoes, also called “bush” tomatoes, are varieties that are bred to grow to a compact height (approx. 4 feet).

They stop growing when fruit sets on the terminal or top bud, ripen all their crop at or near the same time (usually over a 2 week period), and then die.

They may require a limited amount of caging and/or staking for support, should NOT be pruned or “suckered” as it severely reduces the crop, and will perform relatively well in a container (minimum size of 5-6 gallon). Examples are: Rutgers, Roma, Celebrity (called a semi-determinate by some), and Marglobe. http://faq.gardenweb.com/faq/lists/tomato/2000082337022708.html

I didn’t look on my tomato seed packets to figure out who is determinate or indeterminate. Thankfully I can eyeball what I grew last year but I have several new tomatoes I don’t know like the Long Keeper which is semi-determinate and I don’t know anything about the Thessaloniki tomato. I love looking things up though! So no problem.

Info on Tomatillos http://ucanr.edu/sites/scmg/The_Kitchen_Garden/Feature_Vegetables/Tomatillo/

