Last Years Backyard Garden Dent Corn

I made corn tortillas from scratch. I mean really from scratch! I grew the corn myself. Dried the cobs, pulled the kernels from the cob. Now that’s really from scratch. Growing corn to feed a family of two is just too much work. I need a bigger corn bed and someplace to dry the corn. From start to finish corn takes a lot of work. Potatoes are much easier to grow and store here in the Oregon Cascades.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I found out through research you need to do several things before you start grinding the corn. One, you need to soak the corn in quicklime. If you don’t you will get a horrible tasting flour that makes really brittle nasty baked goods. I found out the hard way. Secondly, the quicklime process releases important life saving nutrients and vitamins. If the majority of your calories comes from corn and you don’t use quicklime or another alkaline substance for Nixtamalization you will suffer from Pellagra. It’s a horrible condition in which one’s body slowly falls apart and one’s mind goes crazy. This condition can be brought on through other types of poor nutrition, genetic problems, and drinking too much booze.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pellagra

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nixtamalization

2 thoughts on “Last Years Backyard Garden Dent Corn

    1. Wow…thank you kindly. I have a lot more blogging to do on my garden. I get so tired it is hard to post. Now I will feel more inspired to blog ❤

Comments are closed.