Produce Garden Done Onto The Herb Gardens!

Some pictures of finished garden projects and projects that have not been started. Most of the produce plants were started from seed indoors the end of April. Here in the foothills of the Cascades near Eugene Oregon nights stay very cool until the end of June. We can get a freeze up to the end of May. The poor herb gardens have been neglected, I usually jump into weeding early spring but I was in the middle of several paintings and didn’t have the time. It is a beautiful early June day here in the foothills of the Oregon Cascades. The gardens have kicked my ass, I am so tired. It’s a good kind of tired, happy-thrilled I have finished planting and I need a nap! All that needs to be done until harvest time is weeding, pruning, tying up, and watering. Lots of trellis and pruning work with the tomatoes.

Planted: tomatoes, potatoes, peppers, cucumbers, melons, pumpkins, squash, tobacco, tomatillos, basil, bush beans, (still need to plant pole beans),peas, leeks, onions, carrots, a few cabbage, collard, kale, bok choi, and chard. I will be planting the turnips, beets, collards, kale, bok choi, broccoli, and other cold weather crops in late August as well. Usually winter gardens do well here except this last year when we hit minus zero weather for a couple weeks. Totally wiped out my winter garden.

