Spring Gardens

I’ve been really busy with family and getting the gardens ready for my transplants. Sorry for not posting lately and I’ve slacked on my art projects. Everything is put aside whilst I prep gardens. I did all this work in my bare feet with a shovel, rake, and hoe. In my pictures you can see the 2ft edging around garden number one. I planted tomatoes in this space and will tie them to the fence. Why waste space? Last year I planted wild flowers, but you can’t eat wild flowers. All my gardens around the house are for herbs and food.

Peppers, tomatoes, cucumbers, gourds, pumpkins, squash, potatoes, lettuce, spinach, celery, dill, tobacco, onions, garlic, chard, cabbage, kale, collards, basil, some herbs like savory and rosemary, plus a bunch of misc stuff I can’t remember right now.

My compost pile is full of weeds, it’s grown 3 feet tall! I should have taken a picture. I will when I finish weeding, it should be at least 5ft tall! I have 3 more gardens to weed before I am finished. My husband helped me weed the back garden bed for the pumpkins, squash, and cucumbers, but his chores are the lawn and tree care. I like digging, weeding, and planting and he helps when I ask. My husband is awesome because mostly he stays out of my way. Getting out in the sun and sweating, bending, pulling, squatting makes me feel like a new person. At first I feel awful and have to go to bed around 9:30pm because I’m exhausted and sore. Three days and I am up and running able to work all day with the shovel and hoe.

