Grandson, Chicks, Seedlings, and Green Smoothies

First sign of hatching the chick pokes a breathing hole in the egg. In another couple of hours this chick will break through it's egg into the world.
My Grandson has come to spend the weekend and help with our first hatching. First sign the chick pokes a breathing hole in the egg.
!50 and all the colors have special names. Like brown colors have special names like Fuzzy Wuzzie Brown.
150 crayons and all the colors have special names. So many different colors they have special names like Fuzzy Wuzzie.

Colors

Ninja Turtles and So many new crayons. Grandpa likes to color more than his Grandson.
Ninja Turtles coloring book and so many new crayons. Grandpa likes to color more than his Grandson.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So much easier than using sand to spread small seeds. Seed trays are biodegradable old Pizza pans with clear plastic lids. I line the paper pizza carton with plastic and pour in sterile seedling soil.

My husband loves  Pizza, I can’t eat ready-made pizza because of the chemicals in the crust and toppings they make me really sick. But I can use the pans to grow my garden veggies sprouts!

The lid keeps moisture in and mold out. I will transplant into the paper pots I made when the sprouts are strong enough to be manipulated without breaking the stem.  Seeds sprout faster when kept in a warm environment. Especially peppers, melons, tomatoes, and squash. I can’t plant directly to garden until June up here in the Cascades of Oregon because our nights are so chilly. The dirt doesn’t have time to warm up.

When the transplanted sprouts are a couple of inches high I will move them outside to the greenhouse. I use a heat lamp at night to keep them warm.

