Early Spring Garden


Lunch for today, steamed greens and scrambled eggs.

It’s spring here in Oregon, blue sky and 60 degree day, we call this a teaser day! We can have storms, snow, freezing weather here near Eugene Oregon up till the end of May.

Everything I harvested except for the mushrooms are from our hobby-farm. Budding tops from turnips, kale, and collards with garlic tops and a leek. I basically live on greens with small amounts of grain, animal products, fruit and legumes.

I feed my chicken’s a small amount of grain and the rest of their food comes from forging. The fertilizer for my garden comes from my chickens. Much of their food comes from our gardens. I grow several hundred pounds of squash/pumpkins, greens, and potatoes just for them. Living like this is a beautiful circle.

