Chocolate Tofu Pudding

24 5/8 ounces firm silken tofu
1/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons of almond extract
pinch of salt (to bring out flavors)
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup cocoa powder

Directions:
2 packs of non water packed tofu or your own brick of homemade soft or silken tofu. My tofu is homemade and left to sit out over night in my fridge to dry out. You can find correct tofu here http://www.morinu.com, one brand I’ve read that is very good and organic is called Mori-Nu. I use gypsum as my coagulant, it makes for a very soft but firm silky sweet tofu.

Throw all ingredients together in a blender and blend smooth. I like to add a fresh egg. But if you aren’t into raw eggs you can skip this ingredient. An egg makes the pudding very smooth.

Add a pinch of salt, it will bring out all the flavors.

Also you can add liquid of your choice if the pudding is too thick. Experiment with different flavors by adding fruit and fruit juices. I canned some peaches and blackberry juice. They make for some awesome soymilk shakes and puddings.

Also I add a little almond extract cuts down on the tofu taste. I had to get used to that taste. Once you start eating tofu pudding your taste buds will acclimate. Cooking from scratch can’t really match the chemical taste of industrial foods and most of our palettes have been conditioned to industrial food products. You have to re-condition your mouth to accept organic and homemade foods.

I don’t use a lot of sugar anymore but when I do I use real organic sugar. Fake sugar gives me horrible headaches and stomach aches. I’ve read most fakes are actually neurotoxins. That makes sense because they make me feel deathly ill. Now the bad news for real sugar, we are eating too much as a culture. Sugar is in everything! I found out most of my health and mental problems like memory and slow thinking, headaches, pain in joints and body are related to eating foods that cause inflammation. Sugar is one of the biggest criminals regarding inflammation and health problems.

