Organic Scratch Cooking-It’s Hummus Time!

DSCN2600

Homemade Rhubarb and Raspberry wine makes a long day of cooking so much fun. I will include the recipe for this wine in a later post. Wine is so easy to make you will laugh at the thought you could never make wine! This wine is my favorite to cook with 😉

I can my beans during canning season. During the winter I don’t have to stink up the house cooking beans for hours. My husband has a very sensitive nose which can make cooking with closed windows a challenge. Canning beans in quart jars with a pressure cooker is so much easier. I grind my own sesame seeds the garlic is from our garden. You need a pressure cooker to can low acid foods. http://www.sbcanning.com/2011/09/beans-pinto-black-kidney-how-to-process.html

You know you can buy garlic from your local grocery store, break the head up and plant individual cloves for new home grown garlic bulbs? Garlic is one of the easiest garden plants to grow. Garlic doesn’t like wet, so mound your garlic bed up before planting cloves. Best to plant early spring or late fall.

The parsley and onion are from the organic section from our local grocer. The cooking oil I will be using is grape seed. If you do a search on healthy cooking oils you will find horror stories regarding our cooking oil industry. After my journey through the industrial food grid I am not surprised or horrified our grocer and food industry are selling us toxic cooking oil. It’s cheap and they don’t care about the consumer’s health. All they care about is profit even though they are killing off the consumer that is buying their products. Crazy? Yes, psychopathic crazy. http://www.ponerology.com http://drhyman.com/blog/2012/03/01/time-for-an-oil-change/ http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2003/10/15/cooking-oil.aspx

I have a manual hand-mill just for grinding corn and oily seeds that I can use but I also have a electrical powered ninja blender that will grind up just about anything. I also have a hand mill just for very dry grains. My hand mill for grains came with a metal head for oily seeds but the mouth is too small for corn so I bought a cheap corn grinding mill that works great for grinding wet soya bean or oily seeds. If electric goes out, which it does often during the winter I can use my hand-mills for making our meals. If the electrical grid goes down I will miss my warm water and computer but we won’t go hungry.

Blend up veggies nice and smooth and add smoothly blended garbanzo beans, blend everything together with a spoon. Taste often, add what ever seasoning you like, I like soya sauce for that salty kick and some cyan pepper. I I don’t measure anything, but I kinda of add 1/2 cup of oil to a quart of garbanzo beans, a handful of parsley, a handful of garlic cloves (the more the better), 1 lemon, remove the seeds and skin, throw lemon pulp in the mix, 1 cup of sesame seeds or tahini or peanut butter.

bakedtort

Chips baked at 350 degrees on parchment paper for 10 minutes

chipanddip

Humus and chips

cutuptortillas

Cut up tortillas

Doughballs

Tortilla press, dough balls, and flour for rolling out tortillas

drypan

dry hot pan at low medium for 2-5 seconds on each side.

flatbread

dry pan tortillas

flourflatbread

be sure and flour each side when rolling out pressed dough balls!

humus

Ingredients for humus mixed together. Blended by my Ninja blender. I blend garlic, onion, oil, sesame seeds, and parsley together till smooth. I blend garbanzo beans till smooth. Mix both batches together for a nice chip dip.

papertort

Chips baked for 10 minutes at 350 degrees on parchment paper

Press

Pressing out dough balls. A couple cups of flours with a teaspoon of salt, add spices you like and some hot tap water. Save about 1/2 cup flour if you need to add more flour.  Mix water into flour with spices until you get dough you can handle without sticking to your hands. Knead dough for 10 minutes. Put aside with a moist towel to cover for about 15 minutes.

rollerpin

When you roll out the pressed dough, make sure to cover bottom and top with flour or your tortilla will stick and tear.

I make tortillas for chips from hand milled organic buckwheat and soft white wheat with soy flour made from the pulp left over from making tofu. I think I have the recipe here on my blog.

