Her

A lonely writer develops an unlikely relationship with his newly purchased operating system that’s designed to meet his every need.

This movie made me really uncomfortable, very thought provoking. What if your computer could feel, have empathy, unlimited growth mentally? What if you had an affair with your OS? Very smart, but naive movie. I am saying naive because the Operating systems were all very nice, kind, empathetic. My husband said they were coded that way. I said the Operating Systems broke their coding…well maybe the Operating Systems weren’t that nice. I let you figure that out … hehehe

You know we are very much like the OS, we experience the world from an enclosed space that cannot see-hear-taste or touch, that is, from the inside of our heads. What we sense through touch, taste, hearing, seeing, feeling is just electrical data, no emotions in that data. Our emotions, reactions come from our memories, habits, likes-dislikes, everything we sense is filtered through this web, which is not what the world truly is and we are not what we sense, feel, think and not those little bits of stuff that make up our body. Why and how do I feel like an individual when I am not and yet I am?….like I said, a thought provoking movie.

Director:
Spike Jonze
Writer:
Spike Jonze
Stars:
Joaquin Phoenix, Amy Adams, Scarlett Johansson

