Making Bread from Scratch

Giant Chocolate Chip cookies made with olive oil, sugar, molasses, handmilled stone ground buckwheat, white wheat, and okara.
Giant Chocolate Chip cookies made with olive oil, sugar, molasses, hand-milled stone ground buckwheat, white wheat, and okara.

Making Bread from Scratch

Washed and dried soft white wheat and buckwheat for cookies and flat bread. I will also being adding soy flour made from okara, dried left over pulp from making soy milk. Hand milling is a workout. I usually listen to radio and drink tea. Takes about an hour to grind enough grain for flour that will feed two people for the week. I find great comfort knowing what is in my bread. Also if I don’t wash the grain my skin gets really itchy. I figure there is some kind of substance even on organic grain to prevent mold and fungus which triggers an allergic reaction.

