3 ‘Dirty’ Ways to Recharge Your Gut Health

3 ‘Dirty’ Ways to Recharge Your Gut Health

Healthy dirt makes a healthy gut, this has proved true for my overall health. I “suffered” from fibromylagia, fatigue, chronic pain, frequent bladder and skin infection, thyroid, pancreas, gallbladder stress and inflammation, nerve damage in my spine, lower lumbar #5, with loss of use and reflex with my right leg due to infection in damaged nerve area that wouldn’t heal. Horrible Chronic pain 24 hours a day from my feet up to my back. I also suffered GI pain, I couldn’t digest my food. I ate from Wholefoods, organic, mostly vegetarian, very little meat for the last ten years. Also I didn’t smoke, nor did I drink that much, a couple nights out a month. The city of Chicago did fluoridate their water, found out later fluoride even in small amounts destroys the thyroid if it isn’t full of iodine, thyroid is closely connected to our gallbladder and pancreas. Now with horrible industrial farming practices most organic vegetables grown on large industrial farms our produce is lacking proper nutrition because factory farming neglects it’s dirt. When I moved to a two acre hobby farm and started growing my own food, particular attention was paid to the health of my garden’s dirt. Three years later I am pain free and all my chronic problems are gone!  I believe my healing was related to my ability to digest, proper exercise, clean water and air, and my gut health, I could absorb proper nutrition because of the healthy soil my food came from. As I restored my gut bacteria the ground I worked also had healthy bacteria. The two are closely connected. Also I am a barefoot gardener, don’t know if that really has anything to do with my recovery but connecting to healthy soil through my feet really felt as if I was a plant as well!  Just like a plant needs proper conditions to grow so do you!

By Dr. Mercola

Could healthy soils hold the key to your good health? According to many experts in soil biology and biological farming, the answer is a resounding Yes.

Daphne Miller, M.D., author of Farmacology: What Innovative Family Farming Can Teach Us About Health and Healing, recently penned an insightful article for YES Magazine on the importance of soil quality.

“I spend my days in a sterile 8×10 room practicing family medicine and yet my mind is in the soil. This is because I’m discovering just how much this rich, dark substance influences the day-to-day health of my patients. I’m even beginning to wonder whether Hippocrates was wrong, or at least somewhat misguided, when he proclaimed, ‘Let food be thy medicine.’ Don’t get me wrong—food is important to our health. But it might be the soil where our food is grown, rather than the food itself, that offers us the real medicine,” she writes.

