Red Ass Rhubarb and Raspberry Wine

Wineandcookies

Rhubarb and Raspberry wine (2013) while grinding buckwheat groat for buckwheat sugar cinnamon cookies. A perfect way to spend midday before the weekend hits us. See that mason jar there on the counter? That’s how I bottle my homemade wine, wine bottles are so snobby! Wine recipes are coming up real soon. After hand milling and sifting my buckwheat groat, I add some dried organic soya pulp, that I stoned ground, hand-milled real fine, left over from making tofu called okara instead of the “wheat” flour. Also I add an egg to help the mess stick together. You can follow this recipe though, it turns out okay. Make it your own and start experimenting with different ingredients.

I like to roll the dough ball in sugar and press out with a fork before baking.

Makes 2 dozen cookies

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened

1/3 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup buckwheat flour

1/2 cup flour

1/3 cup if you want of nuts, dried fruit, what ever is your fancy.

* In a roomy mixing bowl, cream sugar and butter, using the back of a large spoon.

* In another bowl mix together flours and other dry ingredients, add wet mixture to dry, I use my hands after the wet has turned lumpy after mixing with flour. Move dough onto parchment paper roll into a 2 inch diameter log, wrap and store in the fridge for a 3-4 hours, until it’s firm enough to handle.

* Heat the oven to 350 degrees. Slice log into at least 1/2 inch rounds. Size of cookie will determine cooking time.

* Bake for 16 to 20 minutes, set timer for 16 minutes and check bottom edges, buckwheat doesn’t brown easily. I usually go the full 20 minutes because I like crispy cookies.

