Wild Apple and Pumpkin Green Smoothy

 

leaf graphic

Ingredients

A bunch of sweet leafy vegetables like lettuce, chard, collard or kale.  A quart of apple juice, 1/2 cup of raw pumpkin. Two tablespoons of grape seed, hemp oil or olive oil keeps the green smoothy from becoming frothy. We need good oils for our hormonal system to communicate correctly, healthy nerves and brain cells. A table-spoon of powdered green tea, a tablespoon of powdered Atlantic Kelp, a tablespoon of powdered Mormon tea. One quarter cup of apple sauce.

Mix the quart of apple juice in your blender with oil, powdered teas and kelp, cubed pumpkin, apple sauce, until well blended, add greens and blend till smooth.  Pour mix into a half-gallon jar or container and add enough water to fill container. Remember the nutrients start breaking down quickly and you should drink the green smoothy within 24 hours.

I became interested in smoothies because I suffer from fibromyalgia.  Through my research, trial and error I found I was sensitive to gluten and what ever is in most processed foods.  The green smoothies were my detox food and I lived off them for about a month and started slowly adding foods back into my diet paying careful attention to how my body reacted.  What I found is I will have to avoid grains containing gluten for the rest of my life and go with only certified or home-grown organic food and my symptoms that have been with me most of my life will disappear. I don’t know why my immune system became so hypersensitive, I can take a good guess–childhood vaccines, GMO, hybridized high gluten grains, amalgam tooth fillings, fluoride in my drinking water, pesticides, herbicides, and plastics.  These products are the easiest for me to deal with and over the last 20 years I have been able to filter most of these toxic chemicals and products out of my life.  Fatigue, skin rashes, cognitive fog, pancreas, thyroid, gallbladder, digestive issues, joint, muscle and foot pain are all gone!  Between food, meditation, and good relationships my body has healed itself.  It’s taken me 20 years, I’m now in my early 50s, I figured I share some of my adventures and they may give you an idea on how to help your body regain its health and stay healthy.

