Green Smoothy Savory

Green For Life by Victoria Boutenko started my search for living without gluten and detoxing from poisons in my food and environment. This is my recipe, I only use what I can buy at my local farmers market or what I can grow. I do not buy from big chain grocery stores because I do not know what my food has been through and I want to support my local farmers. My favorite ingredients I grow in my garden and you can buy from your local Farmers Market are:

Chard, tomatoes, onion, garlic, cayenne pepper , salt, some powdered green tea or brew up a quart of black tea, and powdered Atlantic Kelp.  Most of the items I grow in my winter garden or I’ve canned from my summer garden.

I drink 1/2 gallon of Green Smoothie a day, this may look like a lot, however if you drink the recommended 8, 80z cups of water a day you can substitute your water for a green smoothie.

3 large chard leaves and I love arugula for spice. Remember to rinse your greens at least 3 or 4 times.  I usually soak my veggies in 1/4 cup of salt mixed with a clean sink full of cold water for 15 minutes. I rinse 3 times to remove bugs and dirt.

1 quart of canned tomatoes or 3 to 4 fresh tomatoes and add a quart of water

1/2 teaspoon of salt

3 tablespoons of hemp/grape seed/olive oil depending on your taste, this keeps the smoothy from getting to frothy .  Healthy  non GMO unprocessed oil or fat is needed for proper nerve, hormone and cellular function.

2 tablespoons of powdered Atlantic Kelp

1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper or add to taste depending on how hot you like it.

1 tablespoon of powdered tea or brew up a quart of black tea

Add oil, teas and kelp and enough water to fill blender (couple cups) blend until smooth, add greens, blend until smooth. Add enough water to mixture to fill 1/2 gallon jar. If you can’t drink all of this through the day you can extend the mix to 2 days. I recommend making your green smoothy daily. Many of the nutrients do not last for more than 24 hours and start breaking down after 2 hour in your refrigerator.

TomatoesGreen SmoothySinkcollardbok choiLettuceMe

